103rd Annual Meeting of the Bay View Improvement Association

August 31,2024 10am Calf Pen Meadow School

The current Board Members were introduced: Betty Ann Schildgen (Chair); Teresa Sirico (Co-Chair); Logan Beirne; Kevin Gilbert and Lynn Ryczer; also, Tammy Mursco (Treasurer) and Dotti Arcovitch (Clerk).

New members who introduced themselves: Lisa Karlon-Andrade of 13 Summer Place and Jessica Teta of 30 Field Court.

The Roll Call of Proxys: Teresa Sirico-29; Betty Ann Schildgen-14; David Culhane-5; Dorothy Schildgen-8; Logan Beirne-15; Clerk-10; Kevin Gilbert-8; Todd Nass-40; Pat McComish-5; Sheri Ventricelli-5; Michael Williston-2; Ann Shaw-7.

Reading of the Minutes of the 2023 Annual Meeting. There was one correction: Nass was spelled incorrectly. Motion to accept as corrected: Raven Massi of 6 Hoyt St, seconded by Sharon Joslin of 7 Warren St. All present were in favor.

Report of the Chair: I will begin by informing you of the passing away last week of Joseph Gullo. Joe served on the Board for many years. He was Chairman of our Budget Committee and also advised us on all of our insurance policies. Joe will be missed. (a Moment of Silence was held) I would like to thank all who volunteered to help us this year to get everything ready for our beach season- Painting the two new boat racks, staining the trellis at the main entrance, rolling out the beach mat and placing anchors and new buoys into the water. Thank you to all who served on any committee this past year. I want to also thank our Board: Teresa Sirico, Lynn Ryczer, Logan Beirne and Kevin Gilbert. Our association would not function without our clerk, Dotti Arcovitch and our treasurer Tammy Mursko. Thank you to Gabby Diogo for all the work you do as our webmaster. Lynn Ryczer our Board member is not running for reelection this year. We thank her for all the work she has performed especially as Chair of the Recreation Committee. We are happy to have our new buoys and buoy lines in the water after a two-year absence at a total cost of \$8,000. The City has assumed a deeper cleaning of the beach weekly from May to Labor Day. Last year they did not begin raking until mid-July due to the horseshoe crab's mating season. Good news: we collected money from one of our multi-year delinquents with the help of our attorney. He has been able to arrange full payment for one and is trying to arrange payment from the other. Early April we experienced a Nor'easter which caused great beach erosion and the loss of 15 feet of fence on the Warren Street side of the beach. A large amount of sand was pushed to the back of the beach and over the road in some places. We called quite a few construction companies but none of them had the heavy-duty equipment necessary to push the sand forward on the beach. We finally hired one company doing work on a beach front property who had the heavy-duty machines needed at a cost of \$4975. (Point Beach paid \$70,000 for a new sea wall and Laurel Beach paid \$20,000). On April 27th Clean-Up Day for the beach a large group of volunteers came to clean up debris on our beach and along the fence. Suzanne Lussier and Bob Wortman led a group to beautify the Odell Ave. entrance with plantings.

Report of the Clerk: There were 19 liens released this year. Currently there are 15 one-year delinquents and 5 long-term delinquents. New liens will be placed by the end of September.

Report of the Treasurer: The 2025-2026 Budget was presented. The Budget Committee proposed an increase to \$65 for lots and \$50 for a boat rack. Laurel Wypychoski of 26 Waren St moved the recreation budget be increased to \$4000 with the addition of a donation bucket. This was seconded by Sherri Ventricelli 32 Field Ct. the motion passed with one opposed. Janet Meyer of 89 Orland St. moved the amended budget be accepted. Sharon Joslin of 7 Warren St. seconded, and all were in favor.

Old Business: none

New Business: Rachael Pettiti of 8 Milesfield Ave. suggested we need a Safety Committee, and it was agreed to start a sign-up sheet. The beach mat was discussed. Todd Nass of 47 Welches Pt. moved a new committee be started and Sharon Joslin of 7 Warren St. seconded. All were in favor.

The Election: The candidates introduced themselves. They are Logan Beirne (incumbent), Todd Nass and Laura Hanifin. There were no nominations from the floor. The votes were counted: Logan Beirne 134, Laura Hanifin 93 and Todd Nass 40. Logan and Laura were congratulated as the winners.

Sharon Joslin of 7 Warren St. made the motion to adjourn the meeting at 11am. Laura Hanifin of 22 Odell Ave. seconded. All were in favor.